Learnup #5 - How to quickly set up a secure computer for managing cryptos

Join in on Thursday 14th October at 12pm UTC (1 pm UK time, 2pm CEST) for the next Learnup hosted by the wonderful @Fred

Fred will present a follow up to Corey’s best practices for hardware wallets and walk through creating a secure environment to manage your critical accounts & operations. The idea is, within 1 or 2 hours, to easily set up a fairly secure Linux system where you can manage your cryptos with some peace of mind. This can be on an old laptop, a separate partition, or just a virtual machine.

The goal is not to go too technical & deep on security for now (don’t worry if you’ve never used Linux), but that everybody gets an opportunity & the support to do it

Optional:

If you wish to start the setup during the Learnup, you can download a Linux distribution like:

And find an old laptop you do not use anymore (no need for a powerful one).

The session will be recorded and the slides will be shared afterwards. If you have any questions in advance, please post them below and Fred will try and answer them in the session!

4 Likes

Hi, where will it be possible to join a learnup? Thanks.

hey @django thanks for your interest in the learnups. At this stage the learnups are only for Core Contributors. If this changes, we will let you know. Thanks